Nick Purcell(2)....................Richard Searle
Aaron Westlake........................Lee Wickett
Sean Manning...........................Pete Bloomfield

This year's final saw the underdogs triumph in an exciting game which flowed well from start to finish and both teams participated in the contest but Stratton’s will to win saw them edge the game.

A minutes silence was observed by both teams and the spectators following the tragic loss of two footballing local lads before the game commenced. Stratton were the first to score after about ten minutes when Nick Purcell used his pace down the right wing before cutting inside and scoring with a shot into the corner of the net past Peter Daniel in the Lamerton goal. Midway through the first half Lamerton hit back when Richard Searle scored with a header but Stratton took a half time lead when Aaron Westlake pounced on some hesitant defensive play and stealing the ball and cutting across the edge of the area before calmly side footing the ball home.

Early in the second half Nick Purcell poached for his second goal at the near post squeezing the ball home after following up a shot from Sean Manning which had been blocked. Lee Wickett then reduced the arrears by scoring for Lamerton but Stratton quickly restored their two goal advantage when Aaron Westlake’s run down the left resulted in a cross which was converted by a diving header by Sean Manning.

Lamerton did not give up as Pete Broomfield crashed in a long range effort to make it 4-3 and this set up an exciting last ten minutes, and they nearly forced extra time as Richard Searle hit the crossbar and then Jim Steer had an excellent chance to equalise but his hurried shot went high over Sam Couch’s crossbar.

After a presentation to Mike Barriball to mark his 50 years of service to local football, by C.C.F.A President Brian Conyon, Olver Harris presented the Cup to Stratton captain Sam Couch and medals to both sides.